Something therapeutic

There is something very therapeutic about trying to ‘capture’ a little bit of what makes you ‘you’ for the purposes of sharing with anyone with a passing interest in your view on the world.

I’ve just written a ‘page’ about wildlife as it happens, something that I find increasing fascination with as I get older. I found myself feeling slightly poetic – which probably seems daft – and also wistful as I ‘captured’ memories of my past to share with those who weren’t there.

The process was encouragingly simple as far as the future of the Mothers’ Union website is concerned – more than you can so for the its current hosts’ ability to offer me WordPress! Claranet are not doing themselves any favours – their Starter pack, which I first started using at least five years ago I think, hasn’t moved with the times in either features or price! I’m also frustrated that as a charity we’ve recently (like, last week) paid a years subscription, so porting the domain will be un-necessarily expensive. Since they caused the problem by stopping their support of Frontpage, it seems even more daft, as they’ve not upgraded their package in recompense. Ho hum – I shouldn’t have buried my head about the problem for so long. However, in the long term, I think Alec has put me on to something so much better, that I will thank them as I say goodbye!

Here’s a question though – what is a “category” as opposed to a “tag”? How should I name and use them both to best advantage? (OK so that’s two questions!)

About ramtopsrac

Church of England Priest, child of God, daughter of the New Forest, wife and mother.
This entry was posted in uncategorized, wildlife and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Something therapeutic

  1. ramtopsrac says:

    Treat a Category as the main theme of the posting, for your benefit; use multiple tags for the benefit of others, to link together multiple themes you use in the post (a much richer set).

  2. ramtopsrac says:

    OK, so for example, I have a Category of ‘Sermons’ in which there are tags for the bible references… that works.

  3. alecm says:

    also, categories can be hierarchical…

Leave a Reply

