Honesty at the Cross

Good Friday is a major focus for me this year. Partly because in the run up to Holy Week my son and I are participating in ‘Lift High the Cross’, a local ecumenical open air passion play in which C will be crucified as a thief. But also because, I am also leading our Hour at the Cross service on Good Friday.

In preparation for all this, I spent part of my day at Alton Abbey this week, reflecting on some reading I’d been doing in a book called ‘Praying for England’ that is about “Honesty” (an essay by Andrew Shanks, Canon Theologian at Manchester Cathedral) and what he says about the crucifixion. I’ve only done this sort of thing once before (Maundy Thursday 2009) but rather than go into details I simply share what I ended up writing – a sort of reflection on

Honesty at the Cross

Crucifixion - The Forest Stations, Lincoln Cathedral

Jesus was crucified.
Not alone,
But with two others.
One insulting.
The other,
Fearing God,
Sharing the sentence.

One said,
“Save yourself and us!”
The other,
“Remember me,
when you come into your kingdom”

Jesus answered them.
Both requests
answered in death.
A saving grace
administered through
the commitment of his spirit
to God.

It was not the only
crucifixion.
Many had died before,
many more were still to die.
The only reason to remember them,
was him,
the one who had,
“done nothing wrong.”
Only Jesus
returned their individuality,
when it was being
cruelly removed
by Roman genocide.

Easy to say
it was others that
crucified our Lord.
But who do I crucify
today?
The passer-by,
ignored?
The pleading need,
too costly?

Who does my neighbour place
upon a common
cross?
Whilst I stand by.
Silent.
Manipulating their actions
into a place
I cannot see?

If we expect
Jesus to remember
me,
I
must reveal
those we
crucify into obscurity
today.

The crucified Christ,
remembers each silent victim,
of our oppression.
Ignorance and silence
offer no protection,
from the revelation
that Christ died today,
for all.

About ramtopsrac

Church of England Priest, child of God, daughter of the New Forest, wife and mother.
This entry was posted in ministry, resources, theology - how God fits in and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Honesty at the Cross

  1. Pingback: Fighting for creative space | A Reader in Writing

Leave a Reply

