Turbo those tomatoes and other gardening notes

The productive corner of our little plot - it faces north so we don't bother to shade the greenhouse!

This is by way of a horticultural note to self – so you are welcome to ignore it.

Last year as we started to spin the greenhouse back into action after the build, Dad gave me three ‘turbo tomato’ plants, which were last years new thing from Suttons. The result was envy from both neighbours and the Mother-in-law (M), and a bumper crop: they do exactly what it says on their website: more trusses per plant, and more tomatoes per truss (like 20+ cherry toms per truss)!

So this year I ordered M and I some more. They came this week, and I potted up the little darlings today. I ordered Elegence (ordinary size tomato) and Conchita (cherry variety) – I’ll give M two of the Conchita and an Elegance, so we get more of the bigger ones (which I can roast down with olive oil and garlic to make a great sauce a la Hugh Fearnley-Wittingstall).

Then I had a slight lapse today in my local garden centre (Henry Street) because I discovered that they were stocking Suttons turbo tomato plants, and theirs were much further on than the little plug plants. So to develop a succession of turbo tomatoes across the range I bought a single Dasher, which is a plumb variety. This is now in it’s final 12″ pot, to give us some earlier fruit hopefully.

'Heath-Robinson' obelisk for sweat-peas - and 'Honey' the dog!

Today I also potted up three tiny Alicante tomato plants I grew from some free seed that came with my last Lakeland order. These will eventually go outside (the turbo’s will all be grown in a cold greenhouse) with the idea of generating enough green tomatoes to replenish the ‘green tomato chutney’ larder.

Other horticultural notes for today:

  • Climbing French Beans ‘Cobra’ planted out in the old bath
  • Hanging baskets planted up, but I’ll keep them in the greenhouse for a couple of weeks whilst the plants settle in
  • Sweet peas ‘True Frangrance Mix’ transplanted into a tub over which I fixed a rather heath-robinson obelisk of canes and wire (see left)
  • Courgette plants also transplanted out into the half-waterbutts (2 per butt this year) Two green ‘Yolanda’ and two yellow ‘Buckingham’. Again to see if we can increase supply, this time for the freezer after processing into ‘courgette mush’ which is a great base for doing stuff with cheese sauce and pasta (again from an H F-W recipe from his early book, I think.)
  • Oh, and I put slug pellets round most things including the lettuce seedlings that were sown about three weeks ago!
About ramtopsrac

Church of England Priest, child of God, daughter of the New Forest, wife and mother.
This entry was posted in life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Turbo those tomatoes and other gardening notes

  1. Pingback: Last Swallows of Summer (and other news) | A Reader in Writing

Leave a Reply

