Wedding Admin – the wisdom of limited experience

Yep, me signing the registers on my wedding day!

Today I handed over the last of the administrative responsibilities I have accumulated over my recent years as a Reader at St Peter’s, Yateley: the administration of Banns of Marriage, reading of Banns, and writing of Banns Certificates, along with the writing of Marriage Registers and Certificates!

In preparation I made some extensive notes for my successor which I happened to tweet about yesterday. The Vicar’s Wife asked me for a copy and suggested I blog it!

So after our ‘hand-over’ session today, which our lovely vicar also wisely attended and added his wisdom to, below is a .pdf summary of what I’ve learnt, which I have hopefully de-localised so it might be of use to others.

Please note:
It is the accumulated ‘wisdom’ of several years undertaking administration connected with weddings at my local parish church, including those things I learnt during a year of vacancy during which I seemed to spend a lot of time talking to our Diocesan Registrar! However, this doesn’t make me an expert, so if you find you are told differently to any of what is attached by someone important and trustworthy, please trust them not me!

Click the link to download the .pdf How2-Banns,Marriages&Certificates-CofE

About ramtopsrac

Church of England Priest, child of God, daughter of the New Forest, wife and mother.
This entry was posted in ministry, resources and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wedding Admin – the wisdom of limited experience

  1. Rosalind says:

    http://www.churchofengland.org/media/1481102/clergy-guide%20december%202011.pdf

    This is a very helpful download -used to be an A4 booklet but now on line

  2. Good to have it all there…Had no idea about the notes needing to be on spinal edge…none of ours are – but I can see why it would be a good idea. But I’m an expert at messing up registers (remember the saga of the Polish bride??) so tend to think that as long as people do the opposite of my normal practice, it’s probably fine!

  3. MrsRector says:

    Great summary… We too have learned the hard way sometimes. I’m always amazed at the number of grooms who don’t know how old they are or couples who forget to tell you they are moving house.
    I love the post-it reminders idea !

Leave a Reply

