Feeling the “Surge” – exhibitor news

Just a tad excited to be back in exhibition mode this summer; indeed I’m feeling the “Surge”!

'Surge: Wave of Art' exhibition advert featuring images of waves depicted in the exhibition.

Back in January I visited the wonderful Sage And Salt Studio, a new gallery in Petersfield, Hampshire. Since then it has won the Hampshire ‘art and culture’ award with Muddy Stillettos and Sarah-Jane it’s lovely proprietor has just finished their first exhibition ‘Concious Creativity’.

Since my output is small (due to my other commitments), I’ve not been able to avail myself of shelf-space in the shop; however, Sarah-Jane, it’s inspirational owner, said she was running a summer exhibition celebrating the dynamic beauty of the sea, I jumped at the chance of entering my two latest seashore pieces; and was delighted when both were accepted. The Exhibition is entitled “Surge – A Wave of Art” and it is a privilege to be in some seriously illustrious company; her artisans list is inspiring and widely varied.

My latest ‘Wave over Shore’ (pictured left as a ‘work in progress’) is accompanied by a piece I’ve entitled ‘Lapping Tide’ and both will be on display from 5th July, at the studio in Swan Street, Petersfield. Both pieces are small pieces of wall-art created using my quirky and contemporary take on the tradition of Dorset Button making. Each item is unique and may include a variety of yarns, art-yarns, upcycled and repurposed haberdashery, fabric and jewellery, found items including seashells, wood and pebbles, and cordage handmade using garden plants… basically, anything that ‘speaks’ to me for that particular piece.

If you’re looking for a gentle day out in July, I can thoroughly recommend a visit to the Sage and Salt Studio, and Petersfield in generally. As well as it’s vibrant market on Wednesdays and Saturdays, Petersfield boasts a good selection of shops and independent cafes, including the fab Handmade Studios Yarn Shop, plus some vintage and antique shops further out from the central square. When I dropped off my pieces today for the exhibition, there was a pop-up shop in residence, and I met the hard-working family team from Floral Lifestyle! They’ll be in the exhibition space until Sunday 30th June, so do pay them a visit – but please come back for the ‘Surge – Wave of Art’ Exhibition in July!

Leave a comment