A place of honour at the King’s table – 2 Samuel 9:1-11

I know my Bible knowledge isn’t as good as it should be, but this week I got to preach about a chap I really knew nothing about: Mephibosheth as he appears in 2 Samuel 9:1-11 I particularly liked the phrase “the kindness of God” as a way of explaining the idea of grace.

It was really fun finding out about this chap, but preparing to preach I had to be really careful not to deviate from
a) telling the story and it’s background as I guessed (rightly) that I wouldn’t be the only one who didn’t remember Mephibosheth, and
b) the theme that had come to me whilst praying with the colleague who was going to lead the service.

I only covered half Mephibosheth’s Biblical ‘life’ with this passage that I was given to preach on as part of our “David – Shepherd to King” series. There’s more about him and the duplicity of the servant Ziba in 2 Samuel 16 and 2 Samuel 19, but unfortunately I won’t be exploring those passages in the near future as far as I’m aware.

If you want to find out what I said, feel free to download it from here: Sermon 2 Samuel 9 v1-11

About ramtopsrac

Church of England Priest, child of God, daughter of the New Forest, wife and mother.
This entry was posted in ministry, sermons and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

