Doing my bit for the Armed Forces – launching new project

Ever since my involvement in a Royal Marine Funeral last summer, I have found myself consistently finding little bits of my life and work linked to supporting our Armed Forces.

A couple of weeks ago whilst listening to local army padres, I was able to give my Deanery Chapter advanced warning of a project that has been launched this week by the Armed Forces Christian Union and Mothers’ Union in the Diocese of Winchester (for whom I’m proud to be Head of Marketing and webmistress.)

Today I’ve been able to get all the web and social media announcements out, and I’d be selling this pilot project short if I didn’t mention it here and link to it. So please go and discover for yourself how and why we’re providing funding for Armed Forces Relationship Counselling.

Sadly at present it’s only for those with connections to the Diocese of Winchester, but by providing funding for professional relationship counselling over several sessions (much more useful that the single session the MOD fund) we’re hoping that we can show the project is worthwhile and works well, so that Mothers’ Union members in other Diocese around the country can pick up on the idea.

My prayer now is that a few people in need will take advantage of what we are offering in this project and that they will find the counselling they receive will bring their relationships to a better place. To apply for this counselling please follow this link http://www.afcu.org.uk/relationship_counselling.htm

About ramtopsrac

Church of England Priest, child of God, daughter of the New Forest, wife and mother.
This entry was posted in life, ministry, mothers' union and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Doing my bit for the Armed Forces – launching new project

  1. lizzie ward says:

    I am so glad that the MU is coming in with Armed forces relationship counselling. Hope all goes well and I wish other MU Diocese would get together with The British legion and other armed forces agancies on the welfare support side.I am a MU member and an ex service woman and member of the British Legion welfare caseworker I am not very old ( 50) in Daventry the Peterborough Diocese. If I can be of any assistance please let me know. YIC Lizzie.

Leave a Reply

