Where we lack knowledge

Two things happened yesterday which involved me simply not knowing enough to have avoided the problem.

Firstly, a call from my son Chris’s school explained that the reason I had not had an invoice for his Grade 3 Oboe exam anticipated in the next 3 weeks, was because an administrative error meant he hadn’t been entered! If I had know that not receiving an invoice well before half term indicated there was a problem, I could have created the appropriate waves to rectify it before it was too late. Instead, Chris is a bit deflated, though he took the news quite calmly, and will move straight to Grade 4, hoping to take it by the end of the year.

I give the Head of Music her due, she was incredibly apologetic and worried about demotivating Chris, and very grateful I didn’t throw a wobbly – she wants to meet me because she thinks I’m incredibly calm and understanding. Not a picture of myself I normally see in the mirror – and perhaps down to the fact she phoned me on the mobile when I was walking the dog, probably the calmest part of my day!

More frustratingly my lack of technical knowledge led last night to the discovery that there is a difference between storing and hosting a website, so I need to get Mothers’ Union to spend a little more money with Zen to make the porting of the Diocesan website happen. It explained why the nice man at Zen was a little confused when I ordered the cPanel Bronze! It is though still only Β£5 more than Claranet, with far better facilities – the wordpress stuff is all there and the control panel appears to be easy for the numpty like me to use.

The biggest dent is probably to my pride, as asking for more money will show I didn’t know as much about what I was doing as I gave the impression of to people who know less than me. This mornings reply from the MU Treasurer to my rather embarassed email last night, is encouraging though… so more news soon hopefully.

In the mean time, Alec got me organised last night so I can start writing the new pages before they ‘go live’, so that will be a good way to spend an afternoon and evening. It’s rather nice thanking God (literally) for the friendship and expertise of one of my favourite atheists, but I really do πŸ™‚

So, as I dash off to morning service in my placement parish, what have I learnt – that pride goes before a fall? I knew that already and it’s probably more frustration that I don’t understand things. And yet, none of us understand everything, especially not things of God. If we understood everything about him, and how we relate and work with him, there would be no need for faith, and isn’t developing understanding (whether of technical matters or spiritual ones) the exciting thing that makes our journey through life such an adventure, if not always a joy?!

About ramtopsrac

Church of England Priest, child of God, daughter of the New Forest, wife and mother.
This entry was posted in life, mothers' union, technical bits, theology - how God fits in and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Where we lack knowledge

  1. alecm says:

    Atheist? Anti-theist, please… But I’m just happy to help one of my favourite god-botherers πŸ˜›

  2. ramtopsrac says:

    How is this for very funny – I’d say God was in control and knew more than me what was going on.

    The Diocesan Treasurer gave me the go ahead this morning, as it was a small amount. So this afternoon I phoned Zen.

    In the last three days, Zen have changed their cost structure, and therefore the website storage is only Β£4.99/year + VAT. Laughed? I could have kissed the man. If I’d have done this when I ordered the hosting last Thursday it would have been the Β£24.99 price. God works in mysterious ways his wonders to perform?!

    The porting process has been initiated, and transfer takes five working days, in the mean time, I can work on the new version, which should (if it’s as simple as they say) automatically transfer anything I write in those 5 days in the Zen’s WordPress to muwinchester.org.uk

    So watch that space…

  3. alecm says:

    Excellent news, though I blame the economy, not God. πŸ™‚

    You do realise you have three blogs, now. That’s more than me.

  4. ramtopsrac says:

    Three? Only for a week, then it will only look like two – same as you!

Leave a Reply

